Mom

Happy Mothers day!  This is a day to celebrate mothers and all they do for their families.  Although I do not think one day a year is quite enough in retrospect to all they do and have to put up with.  So, I am dedicating my blog today to my mom!  She is an amazing person, the kind I hope to be one day.  

    While preparing dinner for mom this mothers day, we started discussing all the things mom has done for us over the years.  Of course, we are not really the complimenting type, we are more the tease and make fun, kind of people. So naturally, we begin reminding mom of all the mistakes she made with us kids.  Like the time she forgot Vandes at Layton Elementary as a little boy.  Or when she allowed Ashley, a little Ginger, to steer the four wheeler, which ended up crashing into a side bank, only to topple over and smash mom’s leg. We don’t let Ashley steer anymore. 

But honestly we couldn’t think of many more mistakes.  Mom is very nearly perfect.  She is so patient and kind.  She loves us even when we don’t deserve it and she loves us all the same… so she claims… although we have our theories about who her favorite child is.  She never yells or gets upset even when she has the right too!  She does however have a special talent for making us feel guilty.  When asked to do something, us kids sometimes moan and groan.  Mom responds to our groaning with an “I’ll just do it!”  Only then do we all say… “No!! mom don’t.  I’ll do it, I’ll do it!”  A very effective tactic on her part.  

All joking aside, my mom is amazing.  She is the essence of cool and could totally beat me up, she only does P90X and Insanity every day!  I even think she could take my brother Vandes.  Sorry Vandes, it’s true.  She is a major health nut and has amazing self control when it comes to food.  I grew up watching her take care of her self physically and can honestly say she has been my inspiration in following suit.  She is very giving of herself, her time, and her possessions.  I know I can always rely on her to be there and help me with anything.  I don’t know anyone more honest than my mom.  Dad, however, likes to joke and play tricks, but us kids have learned real quick that if we just ask mom, she’ll tell us the truth.  Nice try dad!  

I could go on and on about my mom.  One thing for sure is, I would not be half the person I am today with out her.  Her influence has been immeasurable in my life.  I hope to be the kind of mother to my own kids that she has been to me!  that is…. if I ever get married.  Thanks for everything Mom.  I love you.

Leave a Reply

