Running Slump

for the passed few weeks I have been sick. Sick of running that is. I tried to run yesterday and after two miles that seemed to go on and on, I quit and didn’t care. I don’t even have the desire to run now or ever, which is strange for me. I think I can officially say I’m in a running slump! It happens to the best of us. The key is to realize you will eventually get out, but what do you do help speed the process?

Well, yesterday instead of running I went and played basketball with the boys. Basically when playing against guys the game becomes a series of runs up and down the court without touching the ball anyway. Guys struggle with the concept of passing especially to a girl. They don’t however show any hesitation to throw up a three even after they have air balled it the last five times. So it was as if I was running a distance run, just more stops than usual and no ball in sight. But that isn’t the point. (sorry i went off on a tangent there…) the point is I didn’t feel like I was running, but I was! I am still staying active. You are not going to get out of a slump by doing nothing. That can only cause one to sink further in until hope to climb out is slim.

So first thing you can do is try running different routes. I’m guilty of running the same route every day or I’ll run my route backwards… from finish to start. Although, literally running backwards would definitely help spice up a run.

Image

Anyway, I am always running around in my neighborhood and don’t usually stray too far. I think finding a route where there is more to see than just houses and cars would be beneficial. Distractions are always welcome when running. Trail running is something I’ve always wanted to get into. Different trails provide different sights, smells, challenges. And I’m sure it won’t become as monotonous as some other runs especially if there are hills involved.

Image

Music is a must for me when running. I created a playlist a long, long, long time ago and still listen to those same songs while out for a jog. This may be one of my problems, I’m sick of my music! Music can motivate runners to do amazing things, but if you don’t like the songs your focus turns to pain, boredom, or whatever and you question why you are running in the first place.

Image

Running games can help make running more fun. I recently bought an app on my I-pod called Zombies, Run! Image It basically puts you as the main character of a story in which you go on missions to out run zombies and gather supplies for your camp in order to survive the Zombie apocalypse. You can hear the Zombies in your head phones as well as the operator who checks in with you every so often. You can put your music with the story while you run and the operator will chime in between songs. Beware not to let the Zombies catch you… you lose points this way. This game is a good tool in getting runners to run faster! My only complaint is I can’t seem to get my GPS to work on it, so it doesn’t track my runs. Another game you can play is runners tag on the Nike Running App. ImageYou go for a run and it automatically logs your miles. Then you tag a friend who becomes It. Tough break. Your friend then must run faster or more miles than you in order to tag you back. Winner is the last one with the fastest time or most miles. A battle of pride is always a great tool for motivation.

Last suggestion for getting out of the hole. Try taking a break and doing something else for a while. you can’t feel guilty if you are still staying active. you should however feel tremendous guilt if you are letting your slump keep you from getting out there. Pick up a new healthy habit for a while. There are millions of things you can do to get exercise so that is not an excuse! take a break from running and do yoga, zumba, Cross-fit, go hiking, biking, swimming, roller blading, mountain climbing, or all the above instead. You have my approval. I know as much as anyone that running can get old.

Leave a Reply

