Ragnar 2012

I survived the Ragnar! But just barely. My little pre race freak out seemed to be justified. I probably should have freaked out a little more than I did. I ran all three legs of my race without walking and felt that was quite the accomplishment considering how much I wanted to die on my last one. Now as a result, I can no longer walk period. But I got a medal, so I guess that makes it worth it…??

I was runner number one, or in other words the number one runner! just kidding. But I had the wonderful opportunity to start the race. But my team and I arrived a bit late so checking in was a little crazy, and then I was rushed to the starting line with out a proper warm up. Good thing the number one runner doesn’t need a warm up!

So there I am waiting for the end of the count down, 10, 9, 8… You get the picture. I start off, running with confidence. I even have a smile on my face thinking, “I’m running the Ragnar! What an accomplishment.” I think that thought came a little too soon because then I came to a huge mountain. So I ventured up, and up, and up! I hit the dirt road and it goes up more! My quads are burning, I’m getting tired and I’ve only put a couple miles behind me with six more to go. Finally the downhill arrives, what a relief! Except.. it’s a very steep winding road of gravel. I almost fell down the mountain more than once. I return to flat ground again and start gaining on this guy, but he won’t let me pass him. So, I start following close thinking I’ll get him in the end. Well the guy leads me astray and we miss a turn. We are going the wrong way! Good thing a van caught up with us and told us to turn around. So leg one was definetly the most dramatic. But I finished running roughly at a 7 minute mile pace. The leg was 7.7 miles long.

Second leg was an 8.4 mile down hill. And I know this sounds like a dream come true but it killed my quads. I started the race strong and overly confident. It was all down hill… Easy!! Well four miles in and my quad muscles ached. But I refused to slow down. I enjoyed passing people too much. This run definitely had the most amazing view! If I wasn’t in such a hurry to win I would have taken a picture. Once I had stopped running however, I could barely make it to the car. I ran this race at a 6:48 mile pace. I was proud but in pain.

After the rest of my van finished their legs, they all did an amazing job by the way, van two took over and we had a chance to get some sleep. We had a bed in the back of the truck and let’s just say I didn’t sleep very well. I was a little squished, it was freezing, and the other teams and runners wouldn’t shut up.
My next leg was at 7am and it came too fast. My legs felt stiff and more sore than ever. I could hardly walk at that point, how was I supposed to run?? Well one thing I learned from this race is that I’m stubborn… I don’t walk. And You can do anything if you set your mind to it. Your body can handle a lot more than you think it can. I ran those last five miles the best I could. I know I looked like a gimp running stiff as a board. But I finished with an 8:49 mile pace, which is really slow for me. And as soon as I finished I sat down and didn’t get up until one of my teammates came to find me.
But I finished!! My whole team finished. We ran 197 miles all together. I ran 22 of those miles myself without stopping. I met new people and had fun working toward the finish line. That is what my medal represents. So yes, i’d say it was worth it!


2 Responses to “Ragnar 2012”

  1. Not quite sure how I stumbled upon your blog, but I like it! Your tips and insights are very good. I just ran Ragnar, and feel very accomplished for doing so, but man, it HURT!!! I wish I could go back to my high school self and knock some sense into her. I was so lazy back then and didn’t realize that 3 miles is not far; it’s where you begin. Good work!

Leave a Reply

