Doing Too Much??

Over training.  Is there really such a thing?  Why would anyone have this problem?  I had never experienced it until recently.  I have always been obsessed with working out everyday and being physically active, but these passed two months I think I’ve entered the level of over doing it just a tad.  Runners, when training for a long distance race, longer than a 10k, You need to be careful.  Yes, you want to put in some serious distance, but intense distance every day may be pushing it a bit.

I am training for the Ragnar which is June 15-16 this year.  I am also on three league soccer teams and a basketball team.  Mondays and Wednesdays I have soccer games and Tuesdays I have both soccer and basketball games.  On top of all that I have also been running 20 plus miles a week .  Am I doing too much?  Needless to say it has started to wear me down.  I first noticed a difference on a cloudy afternoon, a perfect day for running, I was determined to knock out an easy paced 5 to 6 miles.  This was on a Thursday the day after my three hectic days of non stop games and training.  When I first started my work out I felt strangely fatigued.  I felt as if it was very early in the morning and my muscles hadn’t had a chance to wake up yet.  But the feeling never went away.  I was dying the whole first mile and was running slowly.  Also my mental clarity wasn’t the same.  I’m usually focused on the mileage and have a sense of determination during my run.  This time I was only focused on stopping.

So I looked up some facts on over training and here’s what I found. It usually not a problem of too much training but a problem of too little rest. Your body needs a chance to recover.  You do not instantly become stronger after a great workout.  Yes, the work out part is required to become stronger.  You need to break yourself down first in order to build yourself back up, but it won’t do you any good by skipping the build up part and that is where resting comes in.  You become stronger when you give your body a chance to rest and recover properly after a hard workout.

So if you find yourself with signs of Over training, which are; decreased physical performance, heavy legs, increased resting heart rate, increased susceptibility to illness, chronic muscle soreness or fatigue, slower recovery, increased perceived exertion, loss of enthusiasm for running, change in sleeping patterns, and loss of appetite; then stop and take a rest for a few days.  You don’t want to break your self down to nothing.  That may be pushing it a bit.

Leave a Reply

