Running Partner

I’ve gone through many running partners throughout the years, but have never had one stick.  What can I say, I’m a complicated runner.  In my defense, finding the right running partner is a difficult thing to accomplish.  See, You don’t want a partner that is so far above you that you can’t keep up, nor do you want a partner that’ll hold you back or slow you down.  you want someone who will push you.  Someone who will help you improve and reach your destination.  someone who can make the run fun and exciting.  Someone who can run with you even when it’s tough.

I think I’m at a point where I can call myself a somewhat expereinced runner,  I’ve been around the block a few times, if you will.   I have become really good at pushing and motivating myself.  I now enjoy running alone and almost perfer it to running with a partner.  I don’t feel like I get as good a work out with someone else, at least not anymore.  There was a time however when I had to have a running partner to keep myself going.

Take high school for instance.  I ran cross country and I couldn’t stand it!  I did however have an awesome running partner.  Her name was Brianne, or is Brianne.  She was my firsrt running partner of all time and we were so in sync.  She was the first to show me the benefits of having someone there running next to me.  Then she graduated and I was all alone, so I quit…  Talk about dedication.

Once I graduated, I picked running back up again and adopted a new running partner.  My dog Gunner.  He was so fun to run with!  He had a way of making my runs more dramatic.  I then became a much bigger attraction to other dogs, they attacked us on a regular basis.  Gunner also has a problem with his bowel movements when running.  He can’t go for one run without pooping three or  four times along the way.  I don’t know why he can’t just let it all out in one sitting.  so I guess with him you could say we did interval training… stop, go, stop, go.  But despite all that, he pushed me and made my runs a lot more interesting.  Then I went off to college and when I came back he was fat, fat and lazy.  Now when I take him running he has to stop and lay down in the middle of the run.  I’m sure I’ve become faster than when I first graduated from high school, but thats no excuse.  He has four legs…  I’ve moved on.

In college I ran by myself for a bit, then found a new running partner, Shayna.  She and I ran everyday around campus and looked really good doing so.  We had a lot of fans who would whistle at us as we ran by.  Oh how I miss running with her.  Our running relationship lasted around two or three semesters and then she got a boyfriend and that was the end of me.  It happens.  I then started running with guys, girls just weren’t enough for me anymore. (Couldn’t help myself.) Running with guys helped push me a lot more, they were pretty fast and I learned to keep up.  They really helped me improve.  Those running relationships didn’t last too long either.  I tend to leave people in the dust.  So I’m back to running alone again.

I’m sure the right running partner is out there somewhere waiting for me!  I just need to find him. But he needs to be able to keep up.  Especially when I try running away.

One Response to “Running Partner”

  1. I’ve never had a running partner and always thought it’d be so nice to have someone else to do long runs with. I guess it’s just so hard to not only find a runner that is about your same level but also with similar motivation and goals. Too bad there aren’t better websites for runners looking for partners… Good luck!

Leave a Reply

