Long meet days

Sometimes meets last forever!! That is not an exaggeration. We hosted a meet for the junior high kids on Thursday and lets just say it didn’t run as smoothly as we would’ve hoped!
We were having problems with the camera equipment, the computer, the timers, etc! Anything that required a battery or an outlet did not want to work for us. Technology serious makes everything more complicated in my opinion. But technology and I don’t really get along and I seriously wanted to throw that equipment off stadium.
Yet, through all the set backs and mishaps every single member of the Layton high track team was so positive and helpful. They were so good with the junior high kids, cheering at the top of their lungs, learning their names before events just so they could cheer their name specifically. I think the junior highs found it pretty motivating and so did I.
While I was thinking of myself… And how cold and unhappy I felt about that never ending track meet. My athletes were thinking about the young runners they were hosting. They certainly taught me a few lessons as well as provided some wholesome entertainment, which is occasionally, though desperately needed on those long meet days.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=920391383064

Leave a Reply

