Running in Place

I’ve never been one to let someone get too close.  I’m too quick for that.  I’ve covered a lot of distance and improved my stride, stamina and speed.  But all this time I’ve been running in place, never really going anywhere.  I run up one hill only to run back down, never experiencing the other side.

I venture out, away from these walls to the rest of the world, exposed and afraid.  I make it to the top, viewing the other side safely from a distance.  I never really left.  I’m still attached to these walls that pull at me with their unbreakable chains.  I’m back to routine, safe and alone.

Again I climb, running farther than ever before.  I’m at the top, looking down.  Can I finally move forward?  Can I join the others that have passed me by?  I take one step, then two.  I’m out in the open where they can see.  They are getting too close.  good thing I’m quick…

One Response to “Running in Place”

  1. What does that mean?

Leave a Reply

